Being thin SUCKS

I know it might be shocking, but I used to be 68 kg (around 150 lbs and BMI of 24) and liked it. Then I got careless, worked too hard and got down to a pathetic 51 (got up to 54 now though). It took me a year. Usually the reverse happens. Losing a lot of weight unintentionally is just like getting fat, really, except no one can tell just by looking at me that I’ve been careless with diet and exercise, and can’t shame me for my choices. HAHA.

Well, I hate being thin, for several reasons.

1)      Unless you have a super-feminine skeletal structure (like in the image link below), you will lose whatever femininity you had by going below a certain weight.

A very feminine skeletal structure means a small ribcage and wide pelvis, which remain there even if you have very little flesh, which would ensure you have always have curves.  Of you don’t, then weight loss leads to a boyish figure, which is not very feminine.

2)      It got hard to push heavy doors open at the university. You just can’t generate enough momentum.

3)      I feel I freeze more now, and used to be warmer in colder environment. I think I also get ill more often,  but that might just be bias (haven’t measured it).

4)      Being thin doesn’t only mean having little fat, it means little muscle too. And the latter is very useful for strength. Strength is not so crucial for a girl, but it’s a very good thing to have, unless you expect men to do things for you all the time.

5)      Ads to general appearance of being small and insignificant, and makes you look vulnerable, which wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t for reason 6) – it attracts strange guys who salivate about vulnerability. Not the type you want to be vulnerable around. They also generally find fat women vomitable, so being fat would stop them from being attracted to me.

7)My boyfriend will like me better that way 🙂

Here is me at 51 kg:

So, I guess I’m gonna go back to 68 kg and post the new pic around October… I’m kinda curious what people would say about it. Not that it would change my actions that some people would find me gross after that, but I’m just curious.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Fat. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Being thin SUCKS

  1. I would encourage you to stay at the current lighter weight. You do not have one of those boyish/not feminine builds.

  2. Firepower says:

    is that really your hair color

    why dont you ever mod comments now

    • Emma the Emo says:

      Ah, your comment went into spam somehow. Sorry about that. But no, it’s not my real hair color, which sould be obvious judging by my eyebrows.

      • Firepower says:

        I know your secret about which pic you REALLY prefer: the one that’s 30x larger than the other ha

        i want to add you to my blogroll if you can keep up writing decent stuff. and not keep flushing my posts as SPAM.

      • emmatheemo says:

        Lol, it’s because I suck at using WP. Same reason why some comments end up in the spam folder, probably. I just need to check the spam folder more often.

  3. susieann says:

    The skinny Miss Universe picture looks like a tall boy. Stay at 65 kg. It’s slim and health. Don’t go for the skinny little boy look nor go for the obese fat American whale look. Both are nasty and unbalanced. Also nice red hair but the tone of shade is wrong. Go for the red-brownish wine shade look instead. You look great now. Keep it up!

    • emmatheemo says:

      I don’t look like a whale at 68, I never had any fat rolls hanging out or anything like that even at my heaviest. Just looked like a bigger sized curvy gal… Which is achieved by gaining muscle and fat at the same time and approximately same amount (I never looked buff either). So anything between 64 and 68 was good. What’s wrong with the tone of shade of the hair? I’m not sure I know what you mean and how to fix it. Thanks for the comment though.

      • Laurie says:

        you look great ! you have to learn to love yourself just the way you are. Just maintain a goal of 150lb and youll be on your way to awesomeness! (not saying that you aren’t already awesome. =) )

      • emmatheemo says:

        Heh, it’s funny someone still finds this post and comments 🙂 I didn’t, since then, get to my goal, but I did gain some weight. And I do love myself, I just think it would be better to be bigger.

  4. Mr. Roach says:

    One thing with weight is that as you get older, you start to get heavier. Better a little too thin in your youth than fighting your weight throughout your 30s and 40s.

    • Emma the Emo says:

      Hmm.. well, judging by my parents, I might go either way. Might either stay as skinny as I am until 50, or slowly gain weight in 40s like you say. So I kinda have no faith in this and won’t wait until I’m 40 to see if I’ll change. Plus I don’t think I would mind getting slightly overweight in my 40s – better against osteoporosis. I will never be a whale though, it’s just physically impossible the way it was impossible for my relatives.

  5. Alte says:

    Emma,

    I like your blog and tweeted one of your articles yesterday.

    I just wanted to offer you some unsolicited advice concerning photos. When the Googlebot does the next crawl, all of your photos will end up in their image database, so you might end up with them being posted elsewhere by people you have nothing to do with. We always shrink the pictures and then alter the images with befunky or some other photo editor, so that the pictures aren’t valuable to other people. Also reduces the likelihood that you’ll end up as visual inspiration for the Lonely Hearts Club, if you know what I mean.

    Cheers!

    • Emma the Emo says:

      Thanks for tweeting my post :).
      Thanks for the advice too, although I’m not sure what the danger is. I’m not sure how photos can be used against me, since nothing revealing in on them. And I don’t find it bothersome if someone uses them for visual inspiration for Lonely Hearts Club.

  6. Reader says:

    Hi Emma,

    You look great at the lower weight!

    The most important considerations are that: 1) you are not feeling as well, and 2) you are having difficulties with some ordinary tasks.

    As long as you are increasing your weight (and muscle mass) to fix those two problems, and not in response to a baseless fear that you have a boyish figure (which you do not), then everything will turn out well.

    Best wishes.

    • emmatheemo says:

      Thanks 🙂 Nah, nobody told me I have a boyish figure, and it could have been more girlish, but in general not bad. Yeah, my main reasons are practical and I just feel a lot more comfortable with more weight.

  7. Avenger says:

    Unless you’re 6′ tall 68 k would be fat.

  8. bob says:

    I also think the move from 51kg to 68 kg will probably be too much, unless it is mostly muscle. Which may not be possible.

    You are not excessively thin. You look good. Nobody is looking at you and seeing whatever that thing in the first picture is.

    • emmatheemo says:

      Thanks, I guess I didn’t look as bad as I thought (I didn’t think it was ugly, but very small, yes). Put remember, the camera ads 10 pounds to you… Anyway, I can always lose it again if it looks bad 🙂

      • bob says:

        It gets harder every time you go through the cycle, and as you get older.

      • emmatheemo says:

        I dunno, so far losing have been way too easy. I will only be happy if it slows down a bit. Both my parents only got fatter in their 40s (mom even later..), so I don’t want to wait so long. Anyway, thanks for the warning. I think I can always stop and wait for a while, to see if any more is good or bad.

  9. drohan_j@yahoo.com says:

    Women place far too much emphass on their weight. I blame the mainstrea media. Women have more to offer than just their bodyshape.

    • Emma the Emo says:

      I know, it seems like the wrong focus. Weight is just a number, overall figure and fitness are way more important, if you care about your looks and health. Losing weight won’t necessarily make you hot, if you’re still out of shape.
      I don’t know what to blame, really, but it seems the fatter a country gets, the more fat hysteria/hate there is? I dunno if it helps at all to cure obesity…
      I think it’s important to keep yourself in shape (for most people), even if just for your own well-being, but there is no point in obsessing over it and feeling anxiety over it.
      Women have more to offer in both professional setting and relationships, but in the latter, I would say looks are important to hold in good condition. It’s insulting if a romantic partner lets themselves go (not too great in professional setting either, but you can get away with it if you’re an artist, translator or scientist, heheh)

  10. M3 says:

    You look good at 51 kg. Certainly not the skeletal woman in the picture above your pic. I concur that you should try and maintain that weight. It looks goon on ya 😉

    You don’t look malnourished and you got good curves. Ignore the scale and keep the figure.

    • emmatheemo says:

      Too late 🙂 (but according to most people I don’t look much different. Gained muscle and feel stronger btw) Thanks for stopping by 😉

      • M3 says:

        Gaining muscle is never a bad thing dear. Muscle helps you burn more calories, and it’s heavier than fat, which is why you should never go by scale alone.

        Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

