Prevention tips for rapists? Good luck with that

Has anyone seen this list? It’s a rape prevention list for rapists. I’m sure you have seen it. It’s been circulating for a while now (or maybe there are many versions, but the idea is the same), appearing on many sites, including the one in the link. I believe the point of the list is to show us that giving women tips on how to avoid dangerous people is judgemental and victim-blaming:

“My co-worker recently created this list, inspired by sites like this*. As I was reading, I couldn’t decide if I should laugh or be horrified by the reality that violence prevention tips are always aimed at what the targeted person should do (judgment strongly implied) to protect themselves.”

While I’m not keen on victim-blaming, or adding insult to the injury, I am interested in violence prevention, especially violence against myself. That means the “whose fault it was” game isn’t interesting to me. It does look like a form of damage control , and this is why “rape prevention tips for rapists” don’t inspire a lot of hope in me.

But some people do think that telling men not to rape actually worked in reducing rape. David Futrelle thinks so :

“Rape has declined significantly over the past three decades, and I think it’s fairly obvious that increased awareness and understanding of rape, largely the result of feminist anti-rape campaigns, has contributed significantly to this decline.”

Curious if he’s right, I looked at the crime statistics in the USA in general. I looked here  and here. What the numbers tell me is that ALL violent crime (homicide, rape, aggravated assault and robbery) started rising somewhere in the early to mid-60s, peaked in early 90s (except murder, that had a peak in 1980), and started declining in mid-90s. From its peak until 2010, murder decreased by 53%, rape by 36%, robbery by 56% and aggravated assault by 43%. I don’t know if any groups ever conducted any campaigns teaching people not to rob, kill or assault, but I haven’t heard of them.

So what does it all mean? I think it means this. Feminist anti-rape campaigns might have reduced rape. They might not have reduced rape. They might even have prevented rape rates from sinking even lower than they have. In fact I’m almost counting on the latter, as telling someone they should have the right and be able to walk naked at night and not be raped inspires them to prioritize being right over not being raped.

This entry was posted in Feminism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prevention tips for rapists? Good luck with that

  1. M3 says:

    Biggest fight i ever got on SlutWalk Toronto’s facebook page was when i compared a right to do something vs. the risk associated with. I said Pedestrians have the right of way at crosswalks. Any car that hits them is at fault. Full stop.

    Now that you know you have that right, when you push the button, will you look both left and right to make sure cars are coming to a stop, or arrogant in your ‘right’ to cross you’re willing to risk having every bone in your body shattered to prove a point and start a ‘teach people how to drive’ campaign when a majority of drivers obey traffic laws?

    It dumbfounds me the lengths feminists will go and the dangers they will wantonly place themselves in to prove something, even if it actually will cause more harm to their intended audience than doing nothing at all.

  2. Apollo says:

    “My co-worker recently created this list, inspired by sites like this*. As I was reading, I couldn’t decide if I should laugh or be horrified by the reality that violence prevention tips are always aimed at what the targeted person should do (judgment strongly implied) to protect themselves.”

    Violence prevention tips are often aimed at victims because the perpetrators of violent crime are already aware that what they are doing is wrong and they wont listen to tips that tell them not to be violent.

    Im amazed that someone this stupid managed to make it to adulthood without being wiped out running into traffic or trying to fist fight a polar bear.

  3. Pingback: Sean Stephenson Inner Game Magazine | Pickup 101 Game

  4. Pingback: Style Annihilation Method Torrent | Venusian Arts Blog

  5. Pingback: Dating Quotes For Him « Attraction Formula

Leave a Reply

