Should I have more personal stuff on my blog, like feministx?

My blog is named “Emma the Emo’s EMO Musings”, yet there is very little emo about it. The thing is, I might feel a lot of emotions but I don’t tend to express them. So, should I do that, or stick with philosophical thoughts and reporting on cool stuff I’ve read?

This entry was posted in Personal emo stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Should I have more personal stuff on my blog, like feministx?

  1. You should write whatever you feel comfortable writing.
    I am also an emotional person, but I feel uncomfortable sharing them with the whole Blogosphere, but of course expressing my inner-most emotions is not the object of my Blog anyway.
    I think people need to be careful expressing all their feelings on their blogs, you might receive some great genuine feedback, but you also make yourself vulnerable to criticism and hurtful words from people who have nothing better to do with their time that talk bad to others on the net.
    We should be genuine, but also cautious in how much we express of our personal lives we in our Blogs. Femx receives some great advice in response to her posts, but she also receives some horrible unkind replies, from people view it as a sick form of entertainment.

    • emmatheemo says:

      Thank you for your advice.

      I’m not yet sure what to decide, but I will consider this, and other factors. I’m not sure what’s stopping me from doing it, as nasty troll comments aren’t that big of a deal.

  2. I like what you write because its a nice change of pace from the blogs in the US, Canada, and the UK

    • emmatheemo says:

      I take it increasing emotional talk is not a good idea

    • M3 says:

      I second Leap’s comment. Your style is different and a nice reprieve from a lot of what i normally read. Consider it a small oasis if you will.

      But if you do want to break away for a bit, you could always let the emo ‘muse’ about other stuff that might not just pertain to gender politics or ‘spherian’ stuff.

      I’m sure you could muse a lot about whatever matters to you, which is a mystery to us.. what does matter to you?

      – the xbox one?
      – 9-11 truth? inside job or paranoia?
      – pork.. is it really the other white meat? and does that mean it too is privileged?

      World is your oyster Emma.. muse away 🙂

      • emmatheemo says:

        Heh, everyone seems to be against that idea. Oh well 🙂 I do write somewhat personal stuff sometimes, but maybe it’s enough as it is already.

  3. Valentin says:

    You do what you want Emma, but the fact you attract readers is because you don’t share your solipsist views and ensuing emotional fallout with us.
    Then again… you might be a friggin unicorn of a girl that actually knows what the heck introspection means?!

    I dunno anymore. Maybe try it out and see what the reactions are?

    • emmatheemo says:

      Haha, well, I did write some personal stuff before, but it’s a whole another matter to post about it consistently and often. I’m not even sure I can do that so much if I tried, without becoming really repetitive and boring.
      Thanks for the response. It and everyone else’s comments gave me something to think about.

  4. Liz says:

    I’d be interested in hearing your personal thoughts, Emma. 🙂

    The only thing I’d caution against….PLEASE don’t become monomaniacle. I like the abundance of subjectmatter here. Sometimes blogs can go down that emo road entirely and it often all leads to one place. And then the blog sounds like the blogger/blogget is an advertising copywriter for Bettaware or the Acme Corporation or something. I’ll pick on MGTOW today (for illustration, could be anyone who is monomaniacle about anything in particular):

    “Rising venereal disease rates? Solve it today, with new, improved, MGTOW!”
    Or “Blocked drains? You can unblock them today, with new, improved, MGTOW!”
    Or “Cheesy-foot odour smell? Freshen your shoes today, with new, improved, MGTOW”!

Leave a Reply

