Don’t Insist

I respect you if you are religious, but don’t want people to call my worldview a “religion”. It implies I believe without evidence, and I do not.

Please don’t ask me to say faith is scientific.

 

I respect you if you’re agnostic, but don’t want to be called a heathen.

Please don’t ask me to say homosexuality is not a sin.

 

I respect you if you’re fat, but I’d rather be thin. It’s just a preference.

Please don’t ask me to say being fat is as ok for me as being thin.

 

I respect your preference in partners, but I wouldn’t want them myself. It’s just a preference.

Please don’t ask me to say I find your partners as attractive as I find my own.

 

I respect you if you’re a vegetarian, but I like meat. It’s just a preference.

Please don’t ask me to say I find vegetarianism healthy.

 

I respect raw food eaters, but it’s not for me. It’s just a preference.

Please don’t demand I say something I don’t mean.

 

I respect you if you have a mental disorder, but I don’t appreciate being called “mental” or “insane” for my views. It implies insanity is the only reason to believe what I do. It is not. Such a label is dismissive.

Please don’t ask me to say I’m not thankful I don’t have a mental disorder.

 

I respect you if you’re autistic, but I don’t appreciate being called autistic for my views. It implies lack of social intuition is the only reason to believe what I do. It is not. Such a label is dismissive.

Please don’t ask me to say I’m not glad I increased my social skills as much as I have.

 

I respect a woman, but I’m not a woman and I’d rather not be called feminine. It’s not just a preference – being different from a woman is a large part of my identity.

Please don’t ask me to say I don’t prefer being a man.

*      *     *

 

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t Insist

  1. Liz says:

    You’re not a woman?

    • Emma the Emo says:

      Damn, I knew this would not be clear to some readers. But the post is not meant to be written from one single person (I was hoping the agnostic/Christian quotes would make it clear, but oh well). I’m a woman 🙂

  2. Eric says:

    Emma:
    This is somewhat OT, but since you’re interested in psychology, look at this video that David Futrelle posted on Christmas Day:

    http://www.manboobz.com/2013/12/25/a-cat-for-christmas-also-man-boobz-table-of-misandry-art-contest-winner/

    Let’s see, a cat that bears a strong resemblance to Futrelle, perched high on a throne-like chair, eating a banana…hmmm. You know Freudians might say about the evident phallic imagery here…what do you make of it?

    Also, that octopus at the bottom of the article…I think there’s some subconscious message there too…

  3. thebody@live.no says:

    Merry Christ-doesn’t-exist-mas!

  4. Exfernal says:

    To put it bluntly, most gays can’t help getting a boner solely for other men, just like left-handers can’t help being left-handed and stutterers stutter. There is no use condemning them.

Leave a Reply

