Yes, You Can Laugh at Returnofkings.com Articles and Be a Good Person

There is no denying some of the articles on ROK are mean spirited, or at least insensitive. I’m talking about Fat Shaming Week, 6 Reasons Why You Should Not Rape a Girl, and 5 Reasons To Date A Girl With An Eating Disorder. But if you read them and laugh, some people say you are automatically a bad person.

Because you’re laughing at something that is actually very serious.

However, the type of people who attacks ROK for mean humor is also the same type of people who seems to love Monty Python. Of course, it might not be the same people, but it doesn’t matter. I don’t see many people criticize anyone for liking Monty Python.

This Monty Python:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vuW6tQ0218

“Sorry, but the death of my pets still haunts me and I find this horrible and anti-animal. “

Or this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhRUe-gz690

“Fuck you, death and amputation are very serious. How dare you laugh, my grandfather lost his arm protecting his country from intruders, too.”

Or how about the movie series that almost everyone loves   – Evil Dead? If you haven’t forgotten, a woman gets raped by a tree in that movie (well, the first one anyway).

People get killed and mutilated. Since when is loss of life funny?

Well, since always. Anything can be funny if presented funny, but not to everyone and not at all times. And in different cultures and times, some things are acceptable to laugh at, while other stuff is off-limits. And then, some people decide it’s ok to laugh at some bad stuff, but not other bad stuff, and consider themselves saintly for following that rule, and consider you evil for not doing the same.

Unless someone swears to never laugh at anything bad, ever, they are not living up to their own morality. And taking everything so seriously makes us humorless and depressed, and not fun to be around. Therefore, holding onto such a moral is a very weak, self-handicapping  principle in the first place.

Moral crusaders might say :“ROK authors are mean-spirited assholes with crooked morals. Monty Python are good-natured guys, and it makes all the difference”. Yes, ROK has a lot more negativity to it than Monty Python. However, it doesn’t change anything. You don’t have to agree with ROK’s negativity or their opinions to laugh at their jokes.  I can, for example, laugh at jokes of a hardcore leftist just as much, if they are funny to me.

However, it’s unlikely that feminist or leftist jokes would be funny to me. This is not a hypocrisy. It is a preference. Some jokes would not be funny to me because they feel repellent to me, and some are not funny because they are based on assumptions I don’t accept. I won’t laugh at them, but I won’t try to use LOGIC to prove why “it’s not funny” or call for the heads of those who made the jokes.

And therefore I conclude that you can laugh at rape, murder, eating disorders, dead pets and anything else you find funny without turning evil.

Of course, there is such a thing as tact, appropriate place/time to make a joke, and inappropriate place/time. But that’s a whole another topic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yes, You Can Laugh at Returnofkings.com Articles and Be a Good Person

  1. bodycrimes says:

    Sure, you can laugh – if it’s good comedy. 5 Reasons to Date a Girl with an Eating Disorder was groping towards funny – it had some good material in there. The author could have made it a killer piece of comedy with a bit more work. But as it turned out, it was so-so. The other articles just fall flat. Roosh shouldn’t even attempt comedy, but just stick to what he does best.

    • emmatheemo says:

      I didn’t find the eating disorders article too funny (and fatshaming week was too serious), but the reasons not to rape did it for me.
      I like refined, masterful humor, but I also like dumb stuff.

  2. Liz says:

    Yes, you can laugh at parody and still be a good person.
    Satire can be one of the most effective forms of expression.
    Even soldiers under great levels of stress and danger actually find a great deal relief in humor over some pretty un-PC things to include poems and songs about death, ect.

    • Liz says:

      Here’s an example of a song the paratroopers have been singing for generations (my husband went to jump school many years ago):

      Fighter pilots have a lot of bawdy songs. Singing them has become anathema now that women are in the squadrons however. One admin found an old vintage book in back of a squadron bar that everyone forgot about and contacted the NY Times pretty recently.

  3. Ashley says:

    They are amusing, that is for sure.

  4. SirNemesis says:

    The fat shaming and eating disorder articles were insensitive. However, I don’t think the one about reasons to not rape a girl was insensitive. I think it was spot on in its satire of “teach men not to rape” campaigns.

  5. Eric says:

    Emma:
    “I doubt if leftist or feminist jokes would be funny to me.”

    That’s because they have no sense of humor to begin with! LOL They seem to be extremely one-dimensional people overall.

    I do agree with the first commenter, though. Roosh can’t do comedy very well…and actually not much else either, but that’s another story too…

    • emmatheemo says:

      Well, if their own jokes make them laugh, then they are funnny… to them. Humor is subjective, and that is fine. I guess I’m in the minority about laughing at Roosh’s anti-rape article, but I thought it was great. I mean, “it hurts your penis”? Lol.

  6. I date girls with an eating disorder. My girls can’t eat enough 😉

Leave a Reply

