Girl Goes to Study STEM “because my parents said I’m so good at solving math problems in school”

This is going to be a bit of a confession. Probably resume-damaging. But whatever. The job-seeking process seems inherently dishonest and my gut feeling tells me it’s wrong.

Yesterday I read a National Geographic article about a famous engineer and tornado scientist/chaser Tim Samaras. He was one of the most careful chasers out there, which is why his death by tornado was such a surprise to everyone. His colleague Carl Young and son Paul Samaras were also killed. ( http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2013/11/biggest-storm/draper-text )

But what I found most interesting, was what he spent his adolescence on. Pay attention to the parts in bold:

“When the elder Samaras saw how much his son enjoyed tinkering, he took out a want ad for used television sets, then piled them all in front of Tim—who promptly took them apart, repaired and reassembled them. Meanwhile his mother had given up making him play Little League baseball after she noticed that he would spend game time in the outfield gazing not at the ball but instead at whatever in the sky interested him.

Samaras became a ham radio operator by the time he was 13 or 14, a radio repair technician at 16, a service-shop foreman at 17. He did not bother to enroll in college. Instead, in 1977 the high school graduate walked into the office of Larry Brown of the University of Denver Research Institute without a résumé. Brown saw something in the teenager and hired him. “Within weeks,” Brown says, “it was obvious he could fix things that my most senior technicians couldn’t.” By 20 Samaras had Pentagon security clearance and was helping to test, build, and explode weapons systems. “I get paid to blow shit up,” he would exult.”

At the age when he was picking radios apart and rebuilding them, I was making violent comics, paperdolls and other art. I even had my own little comic that was printed in the Saturday issue of a newspaper. Yet at a certain point in high school, kids were supposed to pick a direction of their higher education. And being an artist is really not lucrative or profitable. I went to this high school counselor with others kids, and she was supposed to help us pick a career based on our talents. I was quite good at high school physics, math and chemistry, so they suggested I study science. My parents also saw that I was good at those subjects in school, and also agreed I could study science. And so I did. I picked a program named “Materials, energy and nanotechnology”- it seemed to combine all the subjects I got an A in. It also sounded future-oriented, with its focus on renewable energy. Since it’s so future-oriented, I thought I’d obviously be useful with such an education. I thought maybe I could become a scientist and earn good money.

Already in the first few years at the University I could feel my education was educating, but not adding many concrete, practical skills. People in profession schools were already becoming plumbers, electricians and whatever else. I could do derivation and integration for you.

I had to give up the majority of my art activities to study, and at times it was really annoying. However, I still used my free time on art or something similar. To me, fun was fun – movies and art. And studying was work. I was doing it so I could earn more money later. Not because I naturally want to build stuff, or had a passion for renewable energy.

A friend’s father told me “You can’t learn much by studying like that”. At the time, I was hoping he was wrong. But after getting a Master’s degree and still not getting a job in the field, I think he was right. The education involved a lot of reading and solving problems from the book. Sure, we had some practical education too, but it wasn’t as much as would produce great skills. And if you want to become a real scientist, you better have top grades (mine are good, but not top). Right now, the only thing I feel truly confident in, is my ability to teach things I learned to other people. I could become a teacher. Except I hate interacting with kids or teens I don’t know very well, so it’s not an option. Any other useful skills I would have to work on, by .. working. Or training them at home in my free time.

And this is the pitfall for a “good student” girl who goes to study STEM because everyone thinks she’d be good at it. Being good at studying is not being actually useful in a subject. A good student girl wants to be paid for doing things a boy like young Tim Samaras will do for free. For fun. Who will actually be truly useful and good at age 25?

I’m almost useless for the STEM field. Compared to Tim Samaras anyway. I’m not even feeling bad about it – it’s just true.

This entry was posted in Men, Personal emo stuff, Science&studies, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Girl Goes to Study STEM “because my parents said I’m so good at solving math problems in school”

  1. Scott Vater says:

    You’re young. Go after what you ENJOY. I went to school for bio. Cool story bro! Useless…job market for stuff like that is meh.

    Came to terms with what I’ve always enjoyed…carpentry. Always loved building…stuff. Took stage craft for three years in highschool. Knew a friend that did it and asked if I could help…started doing it and loved it. Sure, it’s not incredibly impressive to mention to people but I don’t care. I enjoy it, haven’t gotten sick of it, don’t work around a bunch of recluse people with zero social skills and it pays a LOT better than you’d imagine.

    What do you ENJOY Emma? What, if you had no worries in the world, would you REALLY want to do if you could just do it? Do it.

    • emmatheemo says:

      That’s pretty much what I’m planning to do. What I like. I’m planning to write an additional post about that subject 🙂 Because despite all of this, my education wasn’t useless to me personally. It just didn’t make me particularly useful to other people, in this particular field.

      Why did you originally go to study biology? For me, it was all the encouragement from parents and teachers (I suppose motivated by status and money). Norway is also very into encouraging girls to study STEM, so there is that.

      • Liz says:

        I majored in chemical engineering at first, too, for the same reasons you did Emma (I’m also an artsy type). Ended up getting my Mrs degree first, and a chemistry degree second (switched from engineering because I needed to finish quickly to follow my husband across the country). My favorite course of all time was Materials science.

      • emmatheemo says:

        Did you get to be useful in any of this? Or switch to something else?

      • Scott Vater says:

        Well, my education wasn’t useless at all…helps me debate religious folk and the like which is really one of the main reasons I went it to begin with. I’m what you would consider a “militant atheist” and chose to REALLY learn what I was talking about (I actually studied to be a minister as well despite my non-belief). However, after going and learning everything I wanted I realized then, despite the wealth of knowledge I had accumulated, I just…didn’t want to do that for the rest of my life. I did have more “issues” going on at the time as well and was just sick of being bored and depressed with life in general.

        That’s when I came to the thought of, “What do I REALLY want to do with my life?”. Thus a new carpenter was born (ironic, eh?).

        I’m also one that doesn’t really enjoy money all that much. I don’t care about being rich or being “better” then my fellow man. As long as I can come home to a decent place and don’t have to STRESS about money that’s all I care about. I say this because I think that’s the problem with most people. They don’t really care about what they ENJOY they care about what they can BUY. This is why we have so many people that hate their job (and their life) but because it brings in a little more money they just stick to it.

        Excuse my French but fuck that shit. Life is wayyy too short to spend it doing something you don’t like. That’s really the long and short of it.

      • emmatheemo says:

        Same here – my education made me more educated in many ways. It also sparked real curiosity in me. I used to have it before, but not as much. I wouldn’t read a textbook for fun, but now I would. And in all possible subjects. However, it’s 10 years too late, if I wanted to become a scientist right now. Still, I’m pretty happy about that.

        Like you, I don’t need a lot of money to be happy. I can be frugal. If I want tasty food I can make it. If I want entertainment, I can borrow a book or a movie in the library. But it wasn’t always like this – when I was a teenager, poverty was real to me and we were always stressed out by it. So my drive to take up STEM education wasn’t, at the time, a stupid move.

    • Liz says:

      “Did you get to be useful in any of this? Or switch to something else?”
      I taught science (sixth graders) for a short time, and then got my MT (medical technology) degree and worked as a clinical chemist in a medical lab for a short time. Then I took some time off because we had kids and moved a lot (moved on average about every year or more). Went back to school and got my RN after that. If I had to do it over (well, I wouldn’t because I wouldn’t have met my husband and I’m pretty happy with the way things went…but strictly career-wise thinking and assuming I had a chance to stay anywhere long enough and all the stars alligned) I’d have gone through EMT training first, then got the RN, then gone to nurse practitioner school after working a few years as an RN (lots of hospitals pay for school, if you sign a contract to stay on as a nurse practitioner. It’s a really good field, and pays phenomenally well.

      • emmatheemo says:

        That’s really good, Liz. I’m still hoping to do something like that (lab work). But it will only be achievable if the employer doesn’t mind letting me have a learning period where I relearn and add to my lab skills.

  2. “And this is the pitfall for a “good student” girl who goes to study STEM because everyone thinks she’d be good at it. Being good at studying is not being actually useful in a subject.”

    This strikes me as the hazard of pushing STEM on girls/women as the way to remake society into this glorious utopia. Even if a set of women have the mental chops for STEM, and some do, they may not be interested in it and want to do other things.

    • emmatheemo says:

      I see your point. This is definitely one mistake a girl can make when choosing an education. I know any degree but STEM is called useless in the manosphere, but it doesn’t mean STEM will work for you.
      I can also see how even boys are encouraged to go to university over a school where they study for a profession. All because one is more white collar than the other.

  3. Anonymous Reader says:

    Being good at studying is not being actually useful in a subject.”

    There are people who enter science or engineering and do very well for the first 2 years or so; that is the phase where problems are well defined and being good at studying serves well. Sooner or later, though, the next phase is entered; in years 3/4/5, the problems become more fuzzy, less well defined, and some degree of deeper insight is required. It is not unusual for students who were B / C students the first two years to blossom into A students, when they aren’t chained to Problem Set 4, Probs 1A, 2B, 3C but rather design of a system or a experimental method.

    And as Wapiti noted, it doesn’t do anyone any favors to push STEM on women. Not only can it be frustrating for the women, it increasingly displaces men. Nobody benefits, except for the grievance industry – perhaps they are the only industry that matters anymore?

  4. Tarnished says:

    What’s that saying? If you do what you love, you’ll never work a day in your life.

    All throughout middle and high school I was in the 99th percentile of the nation, academia wise. I could have skipped 2 grades, going from 6th to 8th over the summer. I got high marks in all my courses (other than math, which stayed in the high 80s no matter how much I studied), but excelled in science. Thus, I tried to do what my parents wanted and paid my way through college to get a Biology degree.

    Ended up realizing that being good at something doesn’t necessarily mean you want to do it day in/day out for years. So I switched my majors and graduated with a double Business and Philosophy degree. Now I am studying small business while working at a game store I love and am currently researching areas for a new location run and majority-owned by me.

    It is spectacular when you realize your life really is your own, and that nobody else can tell you how to enjoy it to the fullest. Your life may not be want others want or consider successful…but if it’s productive and gives you meaning, who cares?

    By the way, excellent post over on J4G, Emma! My FwB is wanting me to get more experience with other partners, and I found a nice virgin/incel guy via his blog, which I love. We are meeting for a date later this month. 😀 Maybe if more women would get over their fear of older virgins or awkward men, we wouldn’t have the amount of incels we do.

    • emmatheemo says:

      Well, at least you switched majors in time 🙂 Thing is, I didn’t hate studying and don’t regret learning anything I’ve learned. The education was good for ME, but it didn’t make me very useful to others (not in a practical skill sense, anyway). So because I enjoyed the learning process itself, it never occured to me to switch to anything.

      And wow, congratulations on finding that man 🙂 I hope you both get a lot out of the relationship. Is his blog available to read, or is it secret? (just curious)

      • Tarnished says:

        Yup, I did.
        I also don’t regret the other knowledge I gained. Biology *is* interesting, and I still “study” it and keep up with recent developments in my free time. But running/owning a business is much more my speed careerwise. STEM fields aren’t the only ones society needs, or even wants!

        His blog is indeed open for reading. I should note that while he is a 29 year old virgin, he doesn’t call himself an incel. He has read some incel blogs and finds the majority of them too vitriolic and angry. What attracted me to him in the first place was how nice and level-headed he is despite being so unlucky in love/intimacy. He’s honestly the first “incel” I have *ever* read who doesn’t want to take away women’s right to vote, make them financially dependant on men, or talk about our entire sex as though we are all frigid and unfeeling unless we’re with “thugs”.
        I will email you his blog info, if that’s ok.

      • emmatheemo says:

        It’s alright with an email 🙂 (you can use emf1010@aim.com ) He sounds like a good guy, although I also can’t look down on angry incels for ranting. My own man had written many offensive articles and comments, but treats me with real care and respect. But of course I understand many people wouldn’t want to approach these kinds of incels. Actually, I’m kind of surprised you haven’t read more non-angry incels. I swear I saw more of these guys around. If they call themselves incel and aren’t angry, they are usually sad, maybe even depressed. But I’m not sure these commenters have their own blogs.

      • Tarnished says:

        Thank you, Emma. I’ll email you now. 🙂

        I haven’t met him face to face yet, but I’ve followed his blog for months and we’ve been emailing back and forth for weeks. Honestly, I’m a little nervous as he’s only going to be my second sexual partner…I’ve never had sex with anyone besides my current FwB. I hope I don’t disappoint!

        I also don’t look down on angry incels, though I fully admit I’m at a loss to understand the amount of loathing they have for every female above the age of 16. I can comprehend and sympathize with anger, frustration, feeling unlovable, depressed, suicidal, and sad as I’ve experienced every one of these. But even when I’d turned 18 and *just* moved out of my parents house (you know what a child-molesting bastard my stepfather was), I never have felt the rage that comes through some of these blogs. I never wanted all men castrated, or dead, or to have their bodily autonomy taken away. I’ve never thought “This world would be so much better if men had their right to vote, own property, have a job, be financially independent, or be single past the age of 25 revoked.”

        Like I told one of my commenters recently, I am so very willing to offer a shoulder to cry on or an ear to listen (or maybe even more if I eventually am capable of casual sex), but I have a significant amount of internal conflict being so kind to a random person who wants you to be without rights.
        I am still sympathetic and kind, but it’s like hugging someone who just spit in your face without reason. It’s very mentally and emotionally draining…how do you do it?

      • emmatheemo says:

        I got your email, thanks 🙂

        I wouldn’t touch someone who said I should be without rights. I haven’t seen so many saying that, but if someone actually says it and means it, I wouldn’t touch them. It’s a big red flag. I’ve seen some non-incels with that attitude, and I don’t view them as better than modern feminists, because they want something for nothing. And I’ve seen some incels with that attitude, and realize they might drop that political fervor if they got a girlfriend, but still wouldn’t touch them. You seem to have a warm attitude to suffering people, but not everyone deserves your personal time and emotional energy.

        However, I also know that what’s written in the manosphere is often misunderstood. I hope you don’t mind I use my bf as an example again. He had an article that got lots of hate, and the name was Rape Is Equality. On the first glance, it seemed like the article was saying we should force women to give up sex to men who don’t have it to make it fair. But after a while it became obvious he was just following feminist logic to its rightful end and showing why it was wrong (“If we must equalize power between men and women like feminists wish, lets do it on ALL fronts, not just where it advantages women”).

      • Tarnished says:

        Thanks! Hope you stop by his blog. He’s a really great guy, and it’s just so weird how he keeps getting stood up/gets no second dates.

        Oh, I understand that a lot of manospherian stuff is taken out of context or misunderstood. Some of it is satire, some is sarcasm, some is extreme examples like what your guy wrote. (Btw, I haven’t read his piece, but I know that working for full equality between the sexes would bring new struggles to the sex that used to simply expect X. I still think it’s worth striving towards, though. Or if not “equality”, then fairness.) Trust me when I say there’s no way to misunderstand it when someone directly says that women should not be able to enter the workforce, all women should be virgins upon marriage but all men should have sex partners before and after marriage, and women should have their right to vote/own property revoked. One blogger actually did an entire post answering my questions…which I appreciated…but his answers really made it incredibly difficult to offer comfort to him.

      • emmatheemo says:

        I think I have seen someone on your blog (in the page Androphobia) saying he wants women to lose all kinds of freedoms. Was that him? If not, I’d still like to see it. I don’t doubt such people are around, just curious to see that particular example.

      • Tarnished says:

        That was a different blogger than the one I was mentioning, but he has similar views. His blog is set up like a downloadable book, whereas the one I was originally thinking of is a typical blog. If you Google “that incel” you’ll find the first one quickly.

        Again, I wish I could comfort people such as he, but when they want to take away my freedoms and rights, I cannot force myself to. I know you said not everyone deserves my support, but it tears me up inside since this is just another denial for them.

      • emmatheemo says:

        Oh, I think I know whom you are talking about. I only wish him well, so won’t say anything negative about him here. But I will say that a many Christians in the manosphere think like that, and I like them a little better than modern feminists because they at least want to legally restrain both sexes, and not just women. However I still hate coersion and would not think that kind of Christianity is a better ruler than modern feminism.

        I know the feeling, Tarnished. You might want to help, but it’s not always possible. At least not by openly communicating, because sometimes your words will be thrown back at you, or they’ll verbally spit in your face ( I dunno if that incel blogger is doing that, just speaking generally now). In that case, if you still want to relieve their suffering and perhaps even lessen their insistence women lose their rights (can happen), help them from behind the scenes (I don’t always know how, but sometimes it’s possible). Helping is about them, not about us, after all. You won’t have to endure their rants, and still help. Or just help in a practical way. It sounds like you’re being their therapist, and that’s an emotionally draining job (and as you said, it doesn’t even necessarily cure all that much).

        But still, you are not infinite and can’t save everyone. Now at least you have one man you can make happy, and that’s already very good.

      • Tarnished says:

        Hmm, I’m not sure we are talking about the same person, because the one I am thinking of doesn’t want to restrain both sexes, only women. For example, he wants all women to be virgins upon marriage (or not ever marry, and become prostitutes). However, he wants all men to have numerous sexual partners, both before and after marriage. Also, the incel I’m thinking of is an atheist, not a Christian. I can email you the link to his blog, if you’d like.

        Yeah, it’s unfortunately very difficult to help like that from an online standpoint. Even moreso when the other person is in another country…I could feasibly meet someone in any of the states within 3 hours of NY, but getting to say, Lithuania, is a whole other kettle of fish.

        “But still, you are not infinite and can’t save everyone.”
        I know this from a logical, mental place. But my emotional side rebels against it constantly. I still care about others more than myself, which is the next thing I have to work on getting under control.

        Thanks for taking the time to talk, Emma. I will be back later, but must get ready for work now. Ta!

      • emmatheemo says:

        Ok, have fun at your work 🙂

        And you can email me the link, but I still think it’s who I think… I haven’t been following his blog too closely, but did notice some Bible references.

        ” I still care about others more than myself, which is the next thing I have to work on getting under control. ”

        Seems you already know what to do. I can recommend meditation for feeling or thought control.

      • emmatheemo says:

        I also want to answer something about incels and your stepfather. One, people are different. Another person in your place would form a grudge and keep it, even with less abuse.
        There is also a difference between sexual abuse/rape and incel. Not everyone would agree, but here is how my man explained it to me. He said he met women who were raped before, and they were not consumed by it like he was by incel. Perhaps because their abuse was in the past, while his problem was still going on. And I think perhaps because they had support for it, while his problem was met with disbelief, suspicion and mockery.

      • Tarnished says:

        Yes, this is true. I’ve met women who had an uncle/grandfather try to french kiss them as a child, and they told other adults immediately so said action was throughly chastised. They compare this to 7 years of emotional and sexual abuse that was only “allowed” by me because my stepfather threatened to kill my pets (he killed my tegu lizard outright, and let my 4 hamsters go in the backyard when I was visiting my bio dad because I’d refused to do something the night before leaving), then moved to threatening to do the same things to my little sisters…his biological daughters. He knew I didn’t care about myself very much after a few years of abuse, so he had to resort to harming others that I loved to keep me in line.

        I never held a grudge, because that would mean I kept it in me. The past happened, and it was awful, and I’ll always have the slight cracks from it…but to nurture a grudge is to give my stepfather a permanent place in my head. That is something I won’t allow, not anymore. You can’t fly if you refuse to remove your shackles…

        I think your second paragraph here makes a lot of sense. If you are raped “only” once as happens to most rape victims…it’s over, it’s done, it was horrible but the healing can begin and it *may* not even scar you that badly as there are numerous support groups and sympathy for female victims/hatred for the perpetrators. It can be likened to getting a single deep cut on your arm, but then being given physical therapy and modern medicine.
        For myself, the abuse happened every week starting the summer I turned 10 (my first menses) and only ended when I moved out at 17, right before graduating high school. During this time, it seemed like there would never be an end to it…it became just another way to keep time, and for a long while I was seriously contemplating suicide, to the point I was researching different pills and their reactions to overdose when I was 14. I never did try, thankfully because I would have made sure I succeeded, but the option was always there. But I finally got away, so my case is like 7 years of cuts with the physical therapy that was my FwB…I never used other resources, so my cut had to heal without “medicine”, but now it’s just a big scar.
        For an incel/virgin who is 25 or older, they haven’t even gotten the cutting to stop. It doesn’t matter if they try to use “bandages” aka therapists/counselors to help stop the bleeding…they are just going to get cut the next week, and the one after, and the one after…until they find someone who can give them love/intimacy. I believe the core problem with incel is that you can’t die from lack of sex, which is what many non-sufferers think it is: just a bunch of guys whining about not getting laid. But it’s not all about fucking, it’s about having someone tell you they care about you. It’s knowing someone loves you enough to share themselves with you. It’s finally being accepted physically, emotionally, and sexually by another besides yourself. If it was purely about orgasms, incel could be cured by daily masturbation…but it’s not. That’s like sweeping the kitchen while your house is on fire, wrong remedy for the wrong ailment.
        We as a culture need to understand exactly what is happening to those who suffer from lack of love. It can kill babies to not be held or cherished. Such inactivity doesn’t kill adults bodily, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t dying inside.

      • emmatheemo says:

        I have read parts of your story before. And repulsed as I feel about the actions of your stepfather, sometimes the best revenge is to live well. On the other hand, when your enemy is still in the process of destroying you, I have understanding for those people who take their enemies down with them. Especially if they have nothing to lose.

        It’s rare to see people understand that lack of touch can be very bad. My boyfriend said the same thing – sometimes just cuddling with a woman made everything better for a while, but being touch-isolated bred all sorts of misery and hate in him. The feeling was reinforced by knowledge that someone was responsible for his slow destruction (feminists criminalized buying of sex from prostitutes, making sex completely inaccessible to relatively poor men whom no one wants to have for free). I guess in his case, the fact that women rarely wanted him for free was tolerable, but lack of touch was intolerable. But I can also see that other incels wouldn’t be happy with just the prostitutes, like he would be. Guys like Sodini and Elliot Rodger never tried this solution, for example, although they had much more money than my boyfriend had.

      • Tarnished says:

        “…sometimes the best revenge is too live well.” Precisely.

        The only thing I’d tie into the dual concepts of “take your enemies down” and the actions of Sodini and Rodger is this: Don’t take down your *perceived* enemies. Sodini shot up a gym of random women, he didn’t target women who’d mocked, hurt, or ridiculed him (note: I don’t approve of murder anyway, but shooting random people who’ve done you no direct harm is selfish and immoral). Rodger shot both men and women, but was originally going to kill all the blondes in a particular sorority…in spite of the fact his videos admit he never tried to ask any of them out, he just “knew” they’d say no and laugh at him. Fighting back against someone who has been actively harming you is very understandable. Hurting/killing someone randomly because they happen to look like/physically embody a concept you hate is wrong and evil.

        Like I said before, lack of touch can kill. It’s been proven to cause wasting death in infants (Google “orphanage” and “lack of touch”), and causes death and/or failure to grow in nearly all birds and mammals. Why the mainstream can’t get it through their skulls that it can have negative repercussions on adults (especially adult men in the West, due to social homophobia and pressure to be unemotional) is beyond me. The data is there, people! That’s why I was very happy indeed to hear about colleges that allow cuddle party groups, and the opening (and success) of The Snuggery, a two-women business of professional cuddlers. Hopefully more will open soon, as there is obvious demand for it. I am not a hugger/cuddler myself, but if someone said they really needed to just be held and comforted, I think I could do it.

  5. Scott Vater says:

    Well, this got weirdly and disturbingly WAY off topic REAL quick. :-/

    What the fuck are ya’ll talkin about???

  6. Trolly says:

    Well do u mean STEM is just for guys or just for people who enjoy it a ton (regardless of gender).

    • emmatheemo says:

      For anyone truly interested. But it’s also true that more guys would be truly interested in it. I’m not saying STEM is just for guys, but more guys will be in it.

  7. Pingback: My Education Wasn’t Useless | Emma the Emo's Emo Musings

  8. konoron says:

    “At the age when he was picking radios apart and rebuilding them, I was making violent comics, paperdolls and other art. […] I picked a program named “Materials, energy and nanotechnology” […]”

    Now you could find a way to join your two skills: arts and technology. An opportunity could be to write educational material. For instance, this book teaches a computer programming language by using comics: http://landoflisp.com/

    • konoron says:

      You need to think out of the box: there are set paths for people in arts or in technology. You will have to find your own path. Don’t waste time by comparing yourself to people who were lucky to discover their calling since childhood. We better accept that luck is never fair.

      • emmatheemo says:

        I don’t think thinking about this man is a waste of time. Sometimes, it’s hard to find out what is possible, without observing people do a variety of things. IMO, a good idea is not just a stab in the dark. From what I have observed, it usually precipitates drom a certain amount of knowledge. If you want the ability to fly, you don’t jump off a cliff and flap your arms, you might take an idea here and an idea there, and put it all together your own way (especially if you’re not a complete genius, and can’t reinvent everything from scratch).

      • konoron says:

        > I don’t think thinking about this man is a waste of time.

        I consider it a waste of time because whenever we compare ourselves with people who had it figured it out since the start, we may harbor an inferiority complex. Let’s make the most of what we have got, because until we are alive we can’t know what breakthrough we could make.

      • emmatheemo says:

        Ok, I get what you are saying. But it doesn’t have to be that way. Other people’s successes don’t have to make us feel bad – they can be an inspiration.

    • emmatheemo says:

      Actually I have been thinking of that as a possible thing to do. But I don’t have to combine anything.

Leave a Reply

