My Education Wasn’t Useless

In this post  I said my education in STEM was useless. But I’m not sure I agree with that anymore. First of all, a friend of my mom’s had a theoretical STEM education too, and still got a job in the field she studied. Obviously someone needs a Useless Intellectual like me for something, even if I have no expert practical skills yet. I was told “EVERYONE has to train and learn skills on their first job”. I will believe them now, and hope for the best.

I also want to admit my education provided me with some skills that are not easy to see initially. First of all, I now know where to find the information I need. Second, I developed curiosity in fields I wasn’t previously interested in. Perhaps I should call it general curiosity, because it applies to almost everything. I now have more hobbies and reading material than I have time for. Partially, the credit for that goes to Eivind Berge , but the university education is just as responsible. I’m not sure I’d be as knowledgeable and evolving as I am now, without them.

Last but not least, I learned social skills at the university. I learned to be ok with holding presentations in front of large crowds, singing in public and just plain old tolerating prolonged social contact (impressive for an introvert like me). None of that was imaginable to me in high school. I’m still an introvert and need time to recharge my energy after social gatherings, but now it’s less time.

Having said that, Tim Samaras is still much better.

 

This entry was posted in Personal emo stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Education Wasn’t Useless

  1. Liz says:

    I’m sure your background is very useful, Emma, even if it isn’t readily apparent. I’ve read that the odds of success double with each skill you acquire, and the more you know the more you can know. Imagine for example, trying to describe a zebra to a person who had never seen one, but had seen a horse. “Well, it’s very similar to a horse, but it has stripes..” and so forth. A lot easier than trying to explain it to a person who had never seen a hoofed (hooved?) animal. Every piece of knowledge is a stepping stone to more knowlege…and you’re packing some serious, useful knowledge.
    Good luck to you! 🙂

  2. Liz says:

    Have you ever read the following Steve Job’s speech? It pertains a lot to this and you might find it inspirational. 🙂

    https://www.yahoo.com/tech/hidden-in-every-mac-computer-text-of-steve-jobs-95465533554.html

Leave a Reply

